The Vertica Forum recently got a makeover! Let us know what you think by filling out this short, anonymous survey.

Choosing Hardware (CPU, HDD) for Vertica nodes

I'm not a hardware expert so please forgive me if I make false assumptions :) Vertica's documentation recommends min 20 MB/s IO throughput (reads and writes) per physical core in full duplex. That means if I have a machine with 12 physical cores and 12 hyperthreaded cores I would need to reach 240 Mb/s read and write simultaneously. A typical 15K RPM drive would do ~150 MB/s sequential read/write. Obviously it seems I need a RAID of some sort. This would mean that I need at least two drives to reach 300 MB/s capacity. If I understand correctly this then needs to be multiplied in order to be able to read AND write 300 MB/s simultaneously. So 4 drives would be needed to reach a total capacity of 600 MB/s. And possibly to use RAID10. Is my thinking correct here?

Comments

• Also what does the recommended minimum actually mean? Why is there a recommended minimum?