VirtualBox crash after Install (one node lost) - any easy way to re-install?

So, first off, I'm a newbie to VirtualBox (and only have a 4GB local system), making it rather difficult to get through the process with VirtualBox as Vertica requires 1GB per CPU, and well.. it took one hour just to save the snapshot of my "host/install" node successfully, but, it crashed the second node.  Being new to Vertica, I'm not really sure what "contents" an install places on a disk.  I'd essentially have to create another virtual image...

What's the easiest way? Keep in mind, I'd LOVE to be able to do this without all three VM open and running at the same time, so I can ensure  successful saving of each snapshot once the system is "repaired."  Outside of other approaches I am thinking of dreaming up to do a fresh install (already spent about 20+hours to get to this point), my thought was to completely replace it with a new VM, i.e. pretending I added another node to the cluster.  Then, figure out how to remove the old node from the cluster (I assume this is possible, but I have not yet attempted to find out/figure out how).  Assuming I can simply create another node to add to the cluster, do I have to have all three clusters "operating (i.e. can I close down the VM of one of the other nodes to ensure I have memory and my virtual box doesn't keep causing me issues? Or, is there a way I can trick Vertica to allow less than 1GB of memory)? 

If anyone has another grand idea, that would save me some time, please advise.

Thanks!

Comments

• Hi David,

Thanks for posting!  I'm a little confused, though -- what is this about multiple nodes?

Vertica will run just fine as a single-node system.  There's typically no reason to run multiple nodes as VM's on the same physical hardware; most likely you'll just see a bunch of instability and disk IO contention.  Each Vertica node should be on a separate physical machine; so if you have one machine, you should run one node.