Vertica backup taking long time

Hello,

We have a 3 node cluster having database size of 10 TB.

Backup is taking more than 40 hours to finish.

Is it the expceted time or are there any ways to fine tune the backup process?

Thanks!

Comments

• Hello,

Can somebody help me here?

Thanks!

• Hi abhi112,

I don't know whether that's the expexted time. The time required depends on your hardware, on how you make the backup (hardlink, local, backup-host) and on the configuration in vbr.ini. I recently had to deal with the customer support and found a 'backup takes too long' entry in the 'recent items' box. In that case the CHECKSUM parameter was set to true, which obviously adds a lot of load to rsync.

• Hi Rok,

Thanks for the response.

Any idea on what changes can we make here to improve the situation or atleast can try to see whether we can reduce the time?

Thanks! 

• check the CHECKSUM parameter :-)

First let me tell you that I am relatively new to vertica, so my experience is very limited, but I collected quite a bit of "generic" experience.  Don't get me wrong, but nobody could give you any advice as long as you are not telling something about your setup.

• Hi Rok,

Thanks for the response.

I appreciate the effort that you are taking here to help me out despite being an amateur like me. :-)

Below is the .ini file which we have for the backup:

[Misc]
    snapshotName = FULLDB
    restorePointLimit = 1
    passwordFile = /home/dbadmin/dbadmin_task/config/backup/dbpass.pwd
    tempDir = /home/dbadmin/dbadmin_task/log/backup

[Database]
    dbName = EDWPRDDB
    dbUser = dbadmin

[Transmission]

[Mapping]
    v_edwprddb_node0001 = EDWPRDVER01:/backup/EDWPRDDB
    v_edwprddb_node0002 = EDWPRDVER02:/backup/EDWPRDDB
    v_edwprddb_node0003 = EDWPRDVER03:/backup/EDWPRDDB

Let me know what other information should i furnish so that you can look and find if there is something.

Thanks!

• Hi abhi112,

I suppose, that