Creating schema

Hi! I have to create a schema in vertica, but I'm a noob of fedora..someone can help me please?
https://github.com/electrum/ssb-dbgen/blob/master/dss.ddl

Comments

• Hi, 

Create schema xxxx;

Hope this is what you are looking for. 

Eugenia
  • if i go to terminal, su, then write Create schema xxx; i have this message:
    "create: command not found"
  • Because you are tipping it in UNIX. You need to go to vsql. Are you logged in Unix as dbadmin? If so you can do vsql -At -c "create schema xxx;" or run vsql and when you see the prompt => run create schema xxx;

Eugenia
  • sorry but I'm too noob, how I can log in as dbadmin?
  • So, you install vertica with the install_vertica script?  Did you create a database using admintools? Can you access to admintools? Because you can also connect to the database using admintools. 

to login as dbadmin as root you have to do su - dbadmin. But if you don't know how to do that, I am not sure if you have a database created. 

I recommend to follow the getting start guide. 
    https://my.vertica.com/docs/7.0.x/HTML/index.htm#Authoring/GettingStartedGuide/Other/GettingStartedG...

Hope this helps, 

Eugenia
  • I've installed by rpm and I've 6.1.2 version..I didn't create a database and I don't know how to do it...unfortunately I'm not english and in the documentation I've found some difficulties
  • If you installed the RPM you just need to create the database. 

So login as dbadmin : su - dbadmin 
    and then open admintools and you should be able to create a database, just follow the steps in the menu. To call admintools, when you are logged as dbadmin do /opt/vertica/bin/admintools

Below are the instructions, with this steps should be easier. 

https://my.vertica.com/docs/7.0.x/HTML/index.htm#Authoring/AdministratorsGuide/ConfiguringTheDB/Crea...

Good luck, 

Eugenia
  • I've tried but I get this: "su: user dbadmin does not exist" :(