Options

Newbie: Loading Parquet file from S3 with correct column count match to table, fails:Too few Columns

Hi all,
I'm new to Vertica, so apologies if this is a standard question. I've done due diligence and trawled the net, and this forum (and docs) and still don't have a solution.

I have a parquet file which i have loaded into s3. It has 42 columns. I have a table which I have carefully created with... 42 columns. I am loading this test parquet file of 42 columns into my table of 42 columns with the following command:

COPY . FROM 's3:///VERTICA-ELT/data_so_2016-01-01_2018-12-09_text.parquet' PARQUET

When I run, I have 'success', but the table is not loaded (no records)

When I check rejections with the following query:

SELECT * FROM .s3_load_rejections_data_so_raw

I get a 'rejected_reason' of 'Too few columns found'.

If it was a csv I would expect this to be a pro

Comments

• Options
    Jim_KnicelyJim_Knicely - Select Field - Administrator
    edited December 2018

Hi,

I use a MS Windows tool called ParquetViewer to view & query Apache Parquet files when I am having issues loading them into Vertica. It will show you the data along with the columns names so that you can verify that the file indeed has 42 columns.

See:
    https://github.com/mukunku/ParquetViewer

Is that the full COPY command that you executed? I don't see a REJECTED DATA TABLE clause so not sure how you were able to get the s3_load_rejections_data_so_raw table.

Typically,when loading a parquet file with less columns than the table, Vertica will just insert NULLs into the trailing columns...

Example:

dbadmin=> CREATE TABLE test_parq (c1 INT, c2 INT);
    CREATE TABLE

dbadmin=> INSERT INTO test_parq SELECT 1, 1;
     OUTPUT
    --------
    (1 row)

dbadmin=> INSERT INTO test_parq SELECT 3, 2;
     OUTPUT
    --------
    (1 row)

dbadmin=> EXPORT TO PARQUET (DIRECTORY='/home/dbadmin/test_parq_out') AS SELECT * FROM test_parq;
     Rows Exported
    ---------------
    (1 row)