Failed connect to vertica in VM

Hi all! I'm new in Vertica. And try to connect with spark vertica connector to my vertica in VM Virtualbox.

I have this options
val opt = Map(
"host" -> "10.0.3.117",
"table" -> "test_table2",
"db" -> "test",
"user" -> "test_user",
"password" -> "test",
"port" -> "5433")

And then try to read
val df2 = sqlContext.read.format("com.vertica.spark.datasource.DefaultSource").options(opt).load()

but I have an Exception
java.sql.SQLNonTransientConnectionException: [Vertica]VJDBC Failed to connect to host 127.0.0.1 on port 5433. Reason: Failed to establish a connection to the primary server or any backup address
Currently I'm using scala 2.10.6 and spark 1.6.2
It is too strange, because my ip 10.0.3.117 is being pinged good. And, when I used simple spark jdbc, scala 2.11 and spark 2.0.x for reading it's worked!
Maybe I'm doing something wrong?

Tagged:

Comments

• I'm running into the same issue with Vertica 8.1 and Spark 2.1. Any recommendations on resolving this?

• edited July 2017

Hi!

VJDBC Failed to connect to host 127.0.0.1 on port 5433. 
    Reason: Failed to establish a connection to [...]

Check this article - Debugging Client Issues with Client Side Logging

Try pure java (or DbVisualizer). Is it works?

• Hi everyone!
    I have this problem too. Spark 2.4.3, Vertica 9.2.1. Has anyone found a solution for this problem?

• marcothesanemarcothesane - Select Field - Administrator

I have never tried to connect Spark to Vertica.

But:
    The error message mentions a host 127.0.0.1 (that's localhost ...), while you're explicitly specifying a host 10.0.3.117 .
    Either a spark config overriding your opt Map? Or some error that prevents Spark from loading your opt Map in the first place?