Options

Vertica Network Traffic - Where Can I Find More Info?

I'm new with Vertica (we're running 6.0.2) and I'm trying to understand how it uses the network and best practices for network configuration. The docs talk about using high speed networks and configuring public and private interfaces - that makes sense to me. However, I want to better understand the high levels of UDP traffic I'm now seeing on Vertica's subnet. Is that due to replication, or something else? Is that something that can be reduced? (Does Vertica really broadcast all database updates?) In general, is there any documentation on the network traffic that Vertica generates? I've looked in the Concepts and Admin guides but don't see much. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    Hi Alec, So, the simple answer is, Vertica's control messages go over UDP and its data messages go over TCP. (There are some cases during node recovery when Vertica may send larger amounts of data over UDP. But they're temporary / will stop after the cluster has fully recovered; and they only contain metadata, not real data.) Vertica uses UDP for its control messages because UDP Broadcast is a useful tool for efficiently coordinating a bunch of machines. Actual data always goes over TCP, in the simple way that you might expect. Under typical workloads and in the steady state, Vertica's traffic is primarily TCP traffic; if you're seeing lots of UDP traffic, that probably means that a node is still recovering (see the NODES system table). It can also mean that you're doing a ton of short transactions that don't require shipping any data around; then the only traffic will be control messages. Adam
  • Options