Adding Node to Vertica Cluster

We have Vertica 9.2 installed on 3 nodes in a cluster. Now, we are trying to expand the cluster by adding a new (1) node.I am following documentation provided under https://www.vertica.com/docs/9.2.x/HTML/Content/Authoring/AdministratorsGuide/ManageNodes/AddingNodes.htm link; however, wonder if anyone has any documentation that would explicitly list each step involved and possible risks involved.

This is my first time installing vertica, so I am a bit unclear with step 2 where it states that 'before installing vertica on new node' we need to update hosts configuration file on all existing nodes in a cluster. Can this be done after Vertica is installed on new node? The node has not yet been added to cluster and /or database, so what could be wrong if Vertica is installed on the new node prior to updating hosts on other nodes in cluster?

Has anyone experienced any issues during adding a node? How long does this process take? What if something goes wrong? Is Vertica going to revert itself to the old (before) structure or there are some additional steps to be done.

If all goes well, are there any additional step to optimize Vertica and verify that new node is working?

Thanks for sharing!

Comments

• SruthiASruthiA Vertica Employee Administrator

you need to make sure that your that node which is being added has been configured as per the steps in the below link

https://www.vertica.com/docs/9.2.x/HTML/Content/Authoring/InstallationGuide/BeforeYouInstall/BeforeYouInstallVertica.htm

You need to have passwordless SSH enabled between new node and other 3 existing nodes of the cluster. Has it been done?

• Thanks Sruthi. we plan to add a node this coming Friday.

• I have another question. Adding a node doc states that "You will also need to edit the hosts configuration file on all of the existing nodes in the cluster to ensure they can resolve the new host." - how do I go about doing so?

• LenoyJLenoyJ - Select Field - Employee